Baked Rutabaga “Fries”

Standard

image

When you are watching your carb intake, you start to miss things like french fries. These are a close substitution and are easy to make.

What you need;
2 rutabaga’s
1 tbls olive oil
1/2 pkt of ranch dressing mix

How to make;
Peel rutabaga’s (I left a little skin) and cut into a fry shape. I like thicker fries so I made mine more like steak fries. Put the rutabaga pieces in a bowl and toss with the ranch and oil until coated. Spread the fries on a baking sheet and bake at 425 for 10 min, flip and bake an additional 10-15 min. These don’t get as crispy as a french fry but they are a good fix when your having a craving! Mild in flavor, a root vegetable and part of the turnip family makes this a great substitute for a potato.

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

4 responses »

  1. I made these today and they were delicious (and very easy to make)! It took me a few minutes to find the rutabaga in the store. It’s not something I would normally try. But I’m glad I did! I paired it with a lettuce wrapped burger and it was just like having a burger and fries (but minus the carbs). 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

