Low Carb Sweet Tooth Snacks

Standard

I’ve been asked many times what I do when I’m craving something sweet, I do get hit by my sweet tooth every now and then and unfortunately my low carb lifestyle and sugar do not mix. There are some low carb protein bars, chocolates, etc that are sold in stores but I find them to taste very fake and not to mention the hundred ingredients that are in them, half of which I can’t pronounce. When I’m craving something sweet I stick to satisfying options and very small potions. Here are my suggestions….
image

1 tbls of all natural peanut butter (4 carbs per tbls) and about 7 milk chocolate chips (2 carbs for about 7 chips) = 6 carbs. Peanut butter is full of protein, healthy fats, potassium, fiber and antioxidants. Peanut butter also helps you feel full. Peanut butter and celery is also a good snack.

If you have a peanut allergy or just prefer the flavor of almond butter better than peanut butter, it has about the same amount of carbs for one tbls and almonds are also very good for you, giving you protein, vitamin e, magnesium and fiber.

1 tsp of honey has about 5 carbs, yes this is a much smaller portion than the peanut butter, but honey is very sweet, I don’t think I could eat more than a tsp anyway. Honey has so many health benefits. You are killing two birds with one stone if you pick this as your sweet snack. See my post about the benefits of honey to discover all of its health benefits.

Sugar free jello has zero carbs. Top with a little whipped cream to make it extra delicious. I have a great recipe for a low carb jello cheesecake, I promise to share it soon!

Cream cheese – Two tbls of cream cheese has about 1 carb. You want the regular cream cheese, low fat and fat free cream cheese is much higher in carbs. I happen to love cream cheese and can eat it plain, but you can also whip it with a tsp of honey and have a sweet and creamy dip for anything you desire.  Cream cheese and celery is also a good snack.

I find any of these options very satisfying for my sweet tooth and I hope they help you out too. Share your low carb snacks with me, I’d love to try them!

Check out my other low carb sweet snacks here…..

https://simple2something.wordpress.com/2013/02/26/low-carb-cheesecake/
https://simple2something.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/low-carb-peanut-butter-balls/

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

