Chicken Sopa Stuffed Peppers

Standard

I’ve said it before, you can stuff a pepper with just about anything! I love green peppers and they are great for stuffing with whatever your heart desires. My inspiration for these stuffed peppers came from a dish that my Mother In-Law makes called Chicken Sopa. It’s a Mexican layered casserole dish with a similar filling that I use in my peppers but it also has corn tortilla’s which unfortunately don’t fit well with our low carb lifestyle. You can take any dish you love and turn it into a stuffed pepper, the possibilities are endless!

What you need;

  • 3 green bell peppers
  • 2 cooked & shredded chicken breasts
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup of salsa
  • 2 tbls diced red onion
  • 2 tbls diced green chilies
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese (divided in half)

How to make;

Wash and dry the peppers, cut them in half long ways and remove the seeds and stem. Season with salt and pepper and put in a baking dish. I like my peppers with a little crunch when they come out of the oven, I don’t want them to be soggy. Depending on how you like them will determine your next step. If you like your peppers soft them put them in the oven now for 10 minutes while you mix your filling, if you like them with a little crunch then don’t pre-bake them (I don’t pre-bake mine). Mix all of the other ingredients for the filling, leaving 1/2 cup of shredded cheese to top the peppers with.

2013-02-07 08.11.36

Once you have them filled, top with the remaining cheese and cover with foil.

2013-02-07 08.12.12

Bake at 400 for 40 minutes then remove foil and bake an additional 5-10 minutes until the cheese is bubbly. Top with scallions and sour cream, serve with a salad and ENJOY!

2013-02-07 08.10.58

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

