Use What You’ve Got

Standard

This post is inspired by my creativity with dinner last night. We came home from a wonderful vacation in sunny, warm and beautiful Fort Lauderdale, Florida to a cold, miserable, snow and iced over St. Louis. We flew in about 45 minutes after the snow/sleet started and as we walked off the plane they were making the cancellation announcement for the rest of the day. Over 300 arrivals and departures were canceled, whew we got very lucky to make it home…….or did we…….after about an hour of waiting for our bags and then a 2.5 hour drive home from the airport in the thick of the storm, we finally made it home to a house with no food. I immediately wished our flight had been cancelled and we were back at our beach house laying around in the sun or splashing in the pool! Snapping back to reality, I realized that we hardly had any food in the house and we were snowed in. After that treacherous trip home, we weren’t getting back out. I found some meat in the freezer and some milk that my dad had bought for us before we got home (thanks dad for everything, including coming to the airport to get us). That milk was essential in the dinner I threw together last night and Cade was very happy to have his nightly cup of milk.  I found baking mix in the pantry and a chunk of pepper-jack cheese in the back of the fridge. We usually have one week a month, usually at the end of the month where we use up our pantry and fridge stock. That week happened to be the week before we left for vacation so that nothing would spoil while we were gone. Our flight landed at noon and I had planned on making a grocery run when I got home, but mother nature had other plans. When I’m trying to use up items, or make a cheap dinner, I often go to my favorite internet tool…..the Google search bar and I start typing in items that I have on hand and see what recipes come up. I did that last night with the following “baking mix, ground beef, cheese, milk” because that’s pretty much all we had and this is the recipe that came up. http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/impossibly-easy-cheeseburger-pie/8c78aa78-c368-40fa-8a88-1654640c7525. I thought, I can work with that….I realized we didn’t have any eggs so back to the Google search bar to find out what you can substitute for eggs in hearty dishes. I know you can substitute applesauce for eggs in sweets but I didn’t know what you could use in savory dishes. I found that mayonnaise can be used as a substitute, 3 tablespoons per egg that you need. Mayo is made from eggs and oil and I must say it worked as a great substitute. Thinking this dish was going to be a little bland, I spiced it up a bit. I found a can of rotel in the pantry and got out some cumin, pepper and garlic salt. I followed the base of the recipe, but this is what I changed………

Kelsey’s Kicked Up Cheeseburger Pie

Brown one pound of ground beef, drain and return to pan, add 1 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp of garlic salt and 1/2 tsp of black pepper. Drain one can of rotel and add to beef and spices, stir well. Mix 1/2 cup of baking mix (I had Jiffy brand on hand) with 1 cup of milk and 2 eggs (I didn’t have eggs so I used 6 tbls of mayo and it worked great). Mixture will be runny. Spray pie pan with cooking spray and pour beef mixture into the bottom. Top beef with about 1 cup of shredded cheese (I had pepper-jack, use what you have) and pour baking mix over the top. Bake at 400 for about 30 minutes or until lightly brown on the top. I had sour cream and hot sauce to top it with but next time I’ll add lettuce, black olives and salsa too. I will be making this again on my use up the pantry/fridge weeks! It made 4 large portions so we had dinner last night and lunch for today! Super easy and really good!
image

*This recipe is not low carb. For those of you who follow me for low carb recipes, more of those coming soon*

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

