Low Carb “Buffalo Chicken Burger & Fries”

Standard

This is my low carb version of a buffalo chicken burger & french fries. I’ve been craving this ever since I let myself have the real thing on vacation. I could have done a boring chicken breast with no bun smothered in hot sauce but what fun would that be? I’ve said before that you can stuff a mushroom with ANYTHING and here’s more proof. I took my buffalo chicken dip recipe (see previous post) and instead of baking it as a dip, I filled portabella mushrooms with it and baked them to a bubbly, buffalo, burger-like perfection. It was a fork & knife burger, but boy was it good! Filled my buffalo chicken craving and exceeded my expectations! I paired it with butternut squash fries….MOVE OVER sweet potato fries, these are WAY better and LOW CARB!

Buffalo Chicken Portabella Burger

What you need;
4 large or 8 small portabella mushrooms
1 10 oz can of chicken
8 oz cream cheese
1/2 cup Franks Red Hot Sauce
1/2 cup ranch dressing
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

How to make;
Wipe off mushrooms with a damp towel, place on a baking sheet. Mix all other ingredients together until combined to make the filling. Fill each mushroom evenly with filling. Bake at 425 for 12-15 min until filling is bubbly.

Butternut Squash Fries

What you need;
1 med. size butternut squash
2 tbls olive oil
1/4 tsp of each; salt, pepper, paprika

How to make;
Peel the squash and cut in half, scoop out seeds. Cut each half in half again. Then cut those pieces in half so you have 8 long slices. From there make “fries” by cutting them into your desired length. Put the fries in a bowl and coat with oil and seasonings. Spread fries evenly on a cooling rack stacked on top of a baking dish (do this so the heat distributes evenly) and bake at 425 for 30 minutes. No need to flip with the cooling rack on top of baking sheet method.

Use the smaller portabella’s for “sliders” or the larger caps as “burgers” would make a great appetizer too! If you like sweet potato fries, try the butternut squash fries, similar flavor but I think these are way better!

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

