Low Carb Zucchini Lasagna

Standard

We are lasagna lovers in my house, my husband requested the real thing for his birthday dinner this year and he often orders it when we go out to eat. I came across a recipe for zucchini lasagna and decided to try it, it was good the first time but I followed the recipe exactly and decided my second try I would use my traditional lasagna recipe but exchange zucchini for the noodles. If you aren’t low carb and are looking for a good regular lasagna recipe, all you have to do is substitute lasagna noodles for the zucchini.

I don’t like to waste, I had some small portions of veggies in the fridge and decided to use them up in the meat sauce. It added so much flavor and texture! You don’t have to use these exact veggies, I suggest you use what you have in the fridge to maximize flavor.

Low Carb Zucchini Lasagna

What you need;

  • 3 medium-sized zucchini (all the same size/length)
  • 32 oz of your favorite spaghetti sauce (store-bought or homemade)
  • 1 tbls Italian seasoning
  • 1 container of ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup of each of these cheese’s – parmesan, mozzarella & provel (if you don’t have provel, use an Italian blend)
  • 1 pound of ground beef or pork sausage
  • About 1 cup of each of these veggies (use what you have) – green pepper, yellow onion and mushroom

How to make;

Saute the veggies you’ve decided on. I used green pepper, yellow onion and mushroom. Saute until soft. Remove from pan and set aside. Brown the ground beef or sausage and drain. Return meat and veggies to pan and pour in spaghetti sauce, heat until warmed through. Mix together the Italian seasoning, ricotta cheese and only 1/2 a cup of each of  the cheese’s – parmesan, provel and mozzarella (the rest is for the top). Slice your zucchini long ways into 6 strips per zucchini about 1/8 of an inch thick. You should yield 18 zucchini slices. This will make 3 layers.  Laddle about 2 scoops of the meat sauce in the bottom of a casserole dish (I used a 8×12 dish). Lay 6 zucchini slices on top of the sauce. Spread half of the ricotta  mixture on top of the zucchini layer then top with 2-3 scoops of meat sauce. Lay another 6 slices of zucchini on top of the meat sauce and spread the remaining ricotta mixture on top of the zucchini,  top with 2-3 more scoops of meat sauce. Lay the last 6 slices of zucchini on top and cover with the remaining meat sauce. Cover with foil and bake at 400 for 50 minutes. After 50 minutes, remove foil and top with remaining cheese. Bake an additional 10 minutes at 400 and then 2 minutes on broil to get the cheese bubbly and lightly browned. I suggest putting your casserole dish on top of a baking sheet because my lasagna exploded over the sides and now I have a mess in my oven to clean……

 

This is one layer of sauce on the bottom, one layer of zucchini, one layer of ricotta mixture and the start of one layer of sauce.
image

This is the start of the second layer, next goes ricotta mixture, sauce, another layer of zucchini and then top with remaining sauce.

image

Finished product! Let this sit for about 10 minutes before you cut into it. It’s a little messier than a traditional lasagna, but ohhhhhh SO GOOD!

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

