A Mother’s Love

Standard

It’s the eve of my son’s second birthday, my hubby & I finished shopping for his gifts & wrapped his presents tonight. I put him to bed for the last time as a 1 year old. He’s such a big boy, he wants to lay down and snuggle up with his blankie & giraffe & looks up at me & says “bye, love you”. He only lets me rock him when he’s sick, where did my cuddly baby go? I’ve been reflecting on the past year & how much he’s grown & changed. He amazes me everyday & I often wonder if he knows how much I love him. I tell him a hundred times a day & I show him with patience, care, fun & kisses, but does he really know? I don’t think a child ever knows how much they are loved until they have their own child. You literally worry yourself sick over them, you put yourself in harms way to protect them & you discipline them even though it breaks your heart to prepare them & teach them. You constantly second guess yourself & wonder if you are doing a good job. You find the best diapers, bottles, clothes, car seats, strollers, toys, etc to keep them happy & comfortable. You sacrafice things for yourself to give them the best. You know all the theme songs to their favorite shows because they like to watch them. You do everything in your power to make them feel better when they are sick. You adjust your entire life for them and they won’t ever truly realize how much you care & love them until they have a child of their own. I know I didn’t realize these things until I had Cade & I’ve never had more appreciation for my parents. I realized everything they did for me was out of love. Now watching them as grandparents is such a gift. I get to see their love from the outside looking in. They often tell me “you just wait” & I know I’m in for it if Cade is even close to the stinker I was, but I’m up for the challenge. This little boy has brought me so much joy, peace, meaning & love to my life! I thank God for him everyday! He’s just what Jake & I had imagined to start our family, the perfect combination of each of us with the sweetest personality. I can’t believe 2 years ago I gave birth to my precious angel, I don’t even remember life before him. Mommy loves you so much, Cade Robert! You are the sunshine in my day, the warmth in my heart & what completes my soul! Happy Birthday Baby Boy!

I love this picture Jake took of us on our recent vacation. A sweet moment between mother & son!
image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

