Kabobs – $10.00 Dinner

Standard

During the summer months, I prefer to make dinner on the grill. I’d rather not heat up my kitchen making a heavy meal and after being inside at work all day, I like to relax on my shaded patio and watch my son play in the yard. Yesterday felt like summer here and that inspired me to break out my kabob skewers a little early. Kabobs can be anything you’d like them to be….all meat, all veggies, combo of meat and veggies…..heck, add some fruit in there too! Grilled pineapple and peaches are to die for! I used what I had at home already, but as I was making the kabobs, I realized that they are a $10.00 (or less) dinner. Now this will depend on what meat and veggies you are using, but to make kabobs cost-effective, buy the meat that’s on sale that week. Try chicken, beef, pork, shrimp, salmon or sausage kabobs. Then buy veggies you like or that are in season so they are lower in cost. I usually marinate my meat in a zesty italian dressing overnight, but I decided to make these last minute, so I made sausage kabobs with bratwurst and peppers, onion and zucchini. These can be a meal themselves, but I like more variety so I added a small side salad. Oh and kabobs are LOW CARB! Here’s how I made them…..

Sausage Kabobs

What you need;

  • 4 sausage (use brats, polish kielbasa, smoked sausage, whatever you like) Cost varies, but this will be your most expensive ingredient. I’d say around $5.00
  • 1 red pepper, 1 yellow pepper – $1.00 each
  • 2 medium zucchini – $1.50
  • 1 medium yellow onion – $0.50

image

How to make;

Cut the veggies into about 1 inch pieces, cut the sausage into about 2 inch pieces and thread each piece of meat and veggies onto a skewer (I use metal, if you use wood, soak in water for a few hours before using so they don’t burn). Use a repetitive pattern, this amount made 8 skewers for me with 2 pieces of each ingredient on each skewer. I drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper and they are ready to hit the grill. About 10 minutes on each side over a low flame until the sausage is cooked through and the veggies and soft and lightly charred. Serve with a side salad or enjoy by themselves, they are a meal on a stick!

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

2 responses »

  1. And they are pretty too!!! Have never made Kabobs!!  Believe it or not!! But will have to try them one of these days!   Love, Susie

    ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

