Glazed Poppyseed Bread

Standard

My aunt Liz has been kind enough to give me her glazed poppyseed bread recipe, AND let me share it with all of you. Let me tell you, this is the most delicious and moist sweet bread you will ever eat! It’s my all time favorite, and until now, I only got some at Christmas time when Liz made it, but now I can make it anytime I want…..and so can you! The almond extract is what really makes this bread I think, along with the glaze. It’s good cold with a hot cup of coffee, warmed up with some butter or just plain when you are wanting a sweet snack. It’s easy to make, and I make mini loaves so it’s a great bread to make and give away and still have some for yourself!

What you need;

Bread

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 c. veg. oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp butter flavoring
  • 3 c. flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbls poppy seeds

Glaze

  • 1/4 c. orange juice
  • 3/4 c. white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp butter flavoring
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

How to make;

I used my Kitchen Aid mixer which made this really easy, but if you use a hand mixer, make sure your bowl is big enough. Beat eggs, add in sugar, milk, oil, butter flavoring, almond & vanilla extract. In another large bowl combine & sift flour, salt, baking powder. After sifted stir in poppy seeds. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients until combined. I used 5 mini loaf pans, but my aunt uses 2 regular loaf pans. Whatever you use, grease them well. Pour batter into pans and bake @ 350 for 50 minutes and check. Do not overbake! While the bread is baking mix all of the glaze ingredients together and set aside. Let loaves cool for a few minutes and run a knife around the edges between the bread and pan so the glaze can drip down the sides. Evenly pour the glaze over each loaf and let the loaves cool completely. Then ENJOY!

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

