Summer Squash Casserole

Standard

Fair warning….you might get tired of all the zucchini recipes I will be posting this summer. My hubby & I planted 3 zucchini plants this year so we are bound to have an abundance of zucchini. I’ve grilled it, fried it, roasted it, steamed it, baked with it and now I’ve made a casserole with it. I had half a large yellow squash that was given to us by a friend and our second zucchini from our garden to use tonight. I wanted a new way to cook it so I went to Pinterest and started looking up squash recipes. I didn’t find what I was looking for but many recipes inspired this squash casserole. It was surprisingly good (I always doubt my recipes the first try) even my hubby was impressed. Since I wasn’t sure how it would turn out I wasn’t planning on blogging it so I’m estimating my measurements. I don’t think you can mess this up though, use what you have. It would be great with just squash or just zucchini if you only have one.

What you need;
1 1/2 cups diced zucchini (bite sized)
1 1/2 cups diced yellow squash (bite sized)
1/2 of a medium yellow onion, finely diced
1 tsp minced garlic
2 tbls minced parsley
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/3 cup Italian bread crumbs
2 tbls parmesan cheese
Salt & Pepper to taste

How to make;
Saute onion, garlic, zucchini & squash until just soft (about 10 min). Season with salt and pepper to your liking. Mix the sour cream, mayo, parsley & shredded cheddar in a bowl. Add squash (with the juices) to the sour cream mixture, mix well. Pour the mixture into an 8×8 baking dish. Mix the parm cheese with the bread crumbs and sprinkle evenly over the top of the squash. I sprayed my bread crumb topping with a vegetable oil spray to help it brown. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes or until the bread crumb topping is evenly browned.

image

I have a feeling this will be even better reheated tomorrow…..or maybe later tonight 🙂

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

