Chocolate Zucchini Cake

Standard

Are you ready for another zucchini recipe? This is my third one to blog about with a lot more to go. This idea started as brownies and after finding a brownie and a cake recipe, I combined the two because I like cake more than brownies. At first I didnt think this would come together, then the batter got really thick, but once I added the zucchini it became more of a cake batter consistency. There are a few things you should know about this cake….1. You don’t taste the zucchini. 2. You hardly see any zucchini. 3. It’s the best chocolate cake I’ve ever had. With that said, its really simple to make & is super moist. The icing totally makes it and it will be hard to eat just one piece!

What you need;
Cake:
3/4 c vegetable oil
3/4 c white sugar
1/4 c honey
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 c flour
1/2 c unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 c shredded zucchini
Icing:
4 tbls unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 c butter
2 c powdered sugar
1/4 c milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

How to make;
Mix oil, sugar, honey, eggs & vanilla until combined. In a separate bowl mix the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. Slowly add the dry to the wet mixture (it gets really thick). Fold in the zucchini (the moisture from this loosens the batter). My stand mixer made this process a lot easier on me! Pour into a greased 9×13 pan and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Cool cake completely before icing. To make the icing mix the butter, milk, vanilla extract & cocoa powder together. Slowly add in the powdered sugar until the icing comes together. Spread icing over the cooled cake. Enjoy with a large glass of milk, vanilla ice cream or whatever your guilty pleasure is….the cake is perfect on it’s own too! Enjoy!

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

2 responses »

  1. K, this is the second recipe I have made from your blog in a week and it turned out perfect!! Since we are going camping I made them into cupcakes. I didnt put on the icing since I would prob eat them all before we get there. Thanks again for sharing your recipes!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

