Tomato Jam

Standard

This recipe is inspired by the tomato jam my Aunt & Uncle bring to Christmas Eve every year. I don’t have their recipe, so I made up my own and I’m pretty darn happy with the result. If you’ve never had tomato jam before, this is a must try!!! Your first bite is sweet, then the flavor changes to tangy and the after taste has a little kick of heat from the jalapeno! Substitute this jam for ketchup, spread it on toast, use it as a glaze over your meatloaf or with cocktail meatballs as an appetizer, or my favorite way to eat it is spread over a brick of cream cheese with a cracker (pictured below). The possibilities are endless for this, I suggest you give it a try for yourself and give it away as gifts. I’m going to be making my second batch soon and I already have a list of people who want a jar!

What you need;

8 cups of chopped tomatoes (5 from my garden gave me 8 cups)
1 cup diced yellow onion (white or red onion could be used if that’s what you have)
1 Jalapeno diced (I didn’t remove the seeds because I wanted some heat)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tbls salt
1 tsp curry powder
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tsp black pepper

How to make;
Dump it all in a pot and bring to a boil, once boiling reduce the heat to a simmer and simmer for 3 hours stirring occasionally.
PicsArt_1375974433811

The slow cooking process breaks down all of the ingredients and slowly turns the seemingly wet mixture into a thick jam like consistency. You want it to reduce by half.
PicsArt_1375974475943

I’d love to hear how you would serve this, pictured below is my favorite way. This makes for a great appetizer! Or for this pregnant lady, it could be dinner! 😉
PicsArt_1375974516015

This made about 4 cups of jam, I packaged them in about 1 cup resalable containers. I’ve never tried canning, but this would be a great jam to can and give away later. I put mine in the refrigerator and freezer, I don’t expect any of my batches to last very long!

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

