Slow Cooker Lemon Thyme Chicken

Standard

I LOVE my slow cooker, I try to use it as often as possible since it’s the only thing in my kitchen that will cook all day for me. I had made a whole chicken in the slow cooker before, it was moist but it was very wet. It sat in the juices for 8 hours and wasn’t what I was expecting. After visiting Pinterest for a few tips on how to cook a whole chicken in the slow cooker, I came up with this recipe. Did you know that whole chicken’s are very cheap at the store? I often find them for $0.99 a pound. They can be intimidating, but I promise I’ll make this easy on you!

What you need;

1 whole chicken (4-5 pounds)
1 lemon
1 bunch of thyme (about 10 stems)
Pepper, garlic powder & seasoned salt

How to make;

I hear conflicting arguments on whether you should or should not rinse your chicken before you cook it. I have never rinsed mine, but I do always pat it dry so this step is up to you….to rinse or not to rinse…..after you’ve decided, cut a whole lemon into 6 wedges, put three wedges inside the chicken, then your bunch of thyme, and then the last 3 lemon wedges on top of that. Season the outside of your chicken with black pepper, garlic powder and seasoned salt. Get under the skin for even more flavor. I didn’t measure my spices, I sprinkled them on until the chicken was evenly coated. Next, ball up two pieces of aluminum foil and put it in the bottom of your slow cooker. Make them about the size of baseballs and push them semi flat. You are going to place your chicken on top of these foil balls to keep it from sitting at the bottom of the slow cooker in all the juices and getting soggy. Once your chicken is placed on the foil, cook it for 8 hours on low. After 8 hours it’s cooked to perfection, but if you like a crispy skin like me, you will want to do this last step. Turn on your broiler, rub the outside of your chicken with about 1 tbls of butter, remove the chicken from the slow cooker and put it in an oven safe dish, broil it for about 4-5 minutes (watch carefully it will burn fast). This crisps up the skin and makes it a beautiful golden brown color. I usually make my husband cut up the chicken, but after watching him, it looks fairly easy and the chicken is so moist it falls right off the bone.

20130814_174826

This chicken recipe is sure to impress! Who doesn’t like a meal that cooks itself? Throw some potatoes and carrots in the slow cooker and you have a full meal when you get home. At $0.99 a pound, you probably won’t find a better bargain that tastes this good!

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

