Easy Pancakes & Blueberry Syrup

Standard

If you haven’t started your day yet, start it with these easy & delicious pancakes! I’ve made them two weekends in a row & they are amazing! My store had blueberry pints for $0.88 each. I bought quite a few & decided to figure out what to do with them later. That’s how I came up with my two ingredient blueberry syrup. My husband & I take turns making breakfast on the weekends, he’s the traditional eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, toast type of guy and I like pancakes, french toast, muffins and cinnamon rolls so when I make breakfast we almost always have a sweet treat. I’ve been using this pancake recipe for awhile, it’s a Martha Stewart recipe and all I did was reduce the amount of salt. The original recipe had double the salt and the pancakes tasted salty. This recipe is so easy and the batter is thick which makes yummy, fluffy pancakes. I urge you to try a scratch pancake recipe, it’s just as easy as a box but tastes much better!

What you need;
For Pancakes:
1 1/2 c flour
1 tbls sugar
1/2 tsp salt
3 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1 1/4 c milk
2 tbls melted butter

For Blueberry Syrup:
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup blueberries

How to make;
Mix dry pancake ingredients, make a well in the middle and add the egg, milk and butter. Whisk together and let batter sit for 5 min. Heat a griddle or pan over medium heat and melt 1 tbls of butter. Pour pancake batter into rounds of your desired size and cook on the first side 2-3 minutes, flip and cook an additonal minute. Repeat until all the batter is gone. This makes about 8 medium sized pancakes. While your pancakes are cooking pour the maple syrup and blueberries into a sauce pan, heat over medium heat until boiling, mash the blueberries with the back of a spoon or a potato masher. Let the mixture simmer while your pancakes are cooking.

image

Stack those pancakes high and top with the delicious blueberry syrup and whipped cream!  Save any leftover syrup for ice cream later! Enjoy!

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

One response »

Leave a Reply

