Low Carb Sausage Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Standard

For my low carb followers and my fellow zucchini lovers, here’s an AMAZING recipe that you have to try! Although I’m pregnant, and not following my low carb lifestyle right now, I will be getting back into that routine after my baby is born and I tested this recipe out to see if it would make my low carb repertoire. It makes the cut and I must say recipes like this will make it very easy to get back into my low carb lifestyle! My Low Carb Chicken Enchilada Stuffed Zucchini Boats are one of my top recipes on my blog, this is a similar concept with different ingredients. I am a huge proponent of “use what you have”. What that means is I don’t follow recipes exactly, if I’m missing one ingredient I just omit it or replace it with something else. I made this recipe up with ingredients I had on hand, follow it exactly or use what you have on hand and make it work for you!

What you need;
2 medium zucchini or 3 small
2 cups cooked and crumbled sausage (not quite a full pound)
1/4 cup of each of these veggies finely diced – red pepper, yellow pepper, green pepper, yellow onion, white mushroom
1 tsp minced garlic
4 oz cream cheese
1/2 c shredded cheese (I used 1/4 cup cheddar & 1/4 cup mozzarella)
1 can of rotel, drained
Salt & pepper to taste
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1/4 cup bread crumbs

How to make;
Cut your zucchini in half and scoop out the seeds making room for the filling. Place zucchini aside on a baking tray. Cook the sausage and set aside. Sauté the red, yellow & green pepper, onion, mushroom and garlic until soft. Add one can of drained rotel, return the sausage to the pan, dice the cream cheese into cubes and stir it into the mixture until melted, add the shredded cheese and season with salt and pepper. Cook over low heat until everything is combined. Scoop the sausage filling into each zucchini boat evenly.
20130819_171046_resized
Mix the parmesan cheese and the bread crumbs together, top each zucchini boat with the bread crumb mixture. Spray the bread crumb topping with cooking spray to help the topping brown. Bake at 400 for 20 minutes. You do not want the zucchini to be soggy, do not over cook it.

20130819_174244

I really wish these pictures would have turned out better, I was in a hurry and they don’t do these zucchini boats any justice. They are a must try and they are good leftover too. I had one for lunch today!

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

