Take Out Remake – General Tso’s Chicken

Standard

General chicken as we call it in my house is my hubby’s favorite take out dish from our local Chinese Restaurant. It’s battered and fried chicken pieces smothered in a sweet and spicy sauce. It’s very good, but not very healthy. A few years ago I came across a Weight Watcher’s Recipe for General Tso Chicken and I made it for the hubs, he thought it was ok and I was determined to make it better. After a few tries I came up with this recipe and it’s been a hit in our house ever since. I often get asked for the recipe when I make it for family & friends and since I made it recently I thought it was about time I blogged the recipe so more of you can enjoy this take out remake.

General Tso’s Chicken

What you need;
1 can of reduced sodium chicken broth
3 tbls cornstarch
3 tbls sugar
3 tbls soy sauce
2 tbls white wine vinegar
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (we like it spicy so I use 1 tsp but if you are weary of spicy start with 1/4 tsp and taste the sauce after it’s simmered. You can always add more)
1 tsp honey
1 pound of chicken breast cut into 1 inch pieces (the sauce can easily accommodate up to 1.5 pounds of chicken)
Chopped scallions for garnish
2 tbls vegetable oil

How to make;
Heat the vegetable oil in a large skillet, add the chicken pieces and cook until browned, about 5 minutes. While the chicken is cooking whisk together the broth, cornstarch, sugar, soy sauce, white wine vinegar, ginger, garlic, red pepper flakes and honey. Once the chicken is browned add the sauce and reduce the heat to a simmer, stirring often until the sauce thickens. At this time I always taste the sauce, add more red pepper flakes if you like it spicy or add more honey if you like it sweeter.

Garnish with scallions, serve over rice and enjoy! I served it with Crab & Cream Cheese Crescents. Find out what I thought about them on my Pinterest board “Things I’ve Tried”.

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Take Out Remake – One Pan Sweet & Sour Chicken | Simple2Something

Leave a Reply

