Ways to Save $$$ Shopping at Target

Standard

Target is probably my favorite store, it’s my one stop shop for almost everything my family needs. I love their Up&Up brand, I love looking through their clearance and I love to find ways I can save money by shopping there. Many people still don’t know the in’s & out’s of successful Target savings. It’s like Target wants to help you save money. I don’t know of another store that offers a debit/credit card that saves you 5% on every purchase AND gives you free shipping online. Not to mention the pharmacy rewards tied into those savings which gives you an additional 5% off once you fill so many prescriptions. Then they have their own store coupons which you can combine with manufacturer’s coupons for additional savings. They also have a new program called Cartwheel which is an app on your phone where you can electronically clip coupons and combine these savings with your Target & Manufacturer’s coupons, and they have a text program that offers additional savings as well. The information about all of these savings can be found on Target’s website, but here are some examples of my favorite savings to give you an idea of how to use these to your advantage!

keep-calm-and-shop-at-target-4

The ottoman for my daughter’s nursery was regular price $69.99, it went on sale for $55.99. I had a Cartwheel savings of 25% off Threshold ottomans or chairs bringing the price down to $41.99. I also had a Target coupon for $5.00 off any home purchase of $30 or more bringing the price down to $36.99 then I ALWAYS use my Target Red debit card when shopping at Target that saves me 5% off every purchase so my final price was $35.14 + tax. By combining the Cartwheel & coupon savings WITH the sale, I was able to save $34.85 off the regular price of the ottoman.

Here’s another example of savings combining coupons & Cartwheel. Revlon powder is $8.49, I had 25% off cartwheel savings bringing the price down to $6.36, I also had a $2.00 off Target coupon bringing the price down to $4.36 AND I had a manufacturer’s coupon for $2.00 off bringing the price down to $2.36 plus my Red card savings of 5% giving me a final price of $2.24 + tax.

I am not a “crazy” couponer, I don’t buy items just because I can get them cheap or free. I focus only on what my family uses and occasionally I will buy things like extra razors, soap, deodorant, canned food, etc when I see a good sale and have coupons to combine and I donate those items to the local food pantry or send care packages to soldiers overseas. I admit that planning a trip where multiple savings are going to be used is tedious work. Here’s my advice. Make your grocery list of items that you need no matter if they are on sale or if you have coupons. Then look at Target’s weekly ad and decide if they are any items that you need to stock up on because they are a good price. Then go through your coupons and match up savings to your list and your added weekly ad items. I print my coupons from Target’s website and coupons.com. I also use the coupons that come as an insert in the Sunday paper. Then I go on my Target Cartwheel app and add offers specific to my shopping trip and lastly I check my Target text messages to see if there are any additional savings that can be utilized there. The text savings usually are a link to additional coupons or information about a certain sale. Having a list of everything I need to buy and having my coupons ready to go saves me a lot of time when going through the store. When I get to the checkout I have them scan my Cartwheel app first, then any text savings and then I hand over my coupons. Lastly I swipe my Target Red debit card and that takes 5% off my entire purchase. What inspired this post was at checkout of my last Target trip the lady behind me watched my total go from $44 down to $5 after all of my savings and she asked me how I saved so much off my initial total. I told her that I used coupons and about the Cartwheel savings app and that my Red card saves me 5% off every purchase. She signed up for a Red card that day and that got me thinking that even regular Target shoppers don’t know about all the possible savings they could be missing out on.

My advice if you are starting out using coupons is to print out coupons for items you already buy or would like to try, just start using coupons regularly to get in the habit of printing, clipping and bring them along with you shopping. Then after you feel comfortable using coupons start matching them with the weekly ad to maximize your savings. Then once you are comfortable with that, to really maximize your savings, use the Cartwheel app and sign up for the text savings and combine all of those savings together to get the most bang for your buck! Also, next time you are at Target sign up for the Red Card which can be a debit card linked to your checking account or a credit card. I use the debit card in store and online and when using it online it gives me free shipping on every purchase!

I hope you have found this post helpful, I love saving money & I love shopping at Target and lucky for me those two things go hand in hand 😉

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

One response »

  1. Pingback: How To Save $$$ Shopping Online | Simple2Something

Leave a Reply

