Roasted Parsnip Puree

Standard

Need a low carb potato substitute? Parsnips fit the bill! Tonight was the first time I’ve tried parsnips and I must say that I’m impressed and already looking for more ways to use them. Tonight to accompany our roast chicken and broccoli I made a very simple roasted parsnip puree. It has the same texture as mashed potatoes, even looks like mashed potatoes but the slightly sweet flavor makes them better than mashed potatoes. Here’s the recipe….

What you need;

4 parsnips
1 tablespoon diced garlic
Olive oil
Salt & pepper

How to make;

Wash & peel the parsnips. Cut into 1 inch chunks and coat with a few drizzles of olive oil and salt and pepper. Spread out on a baking tray and bake at 400 for 12 minutes. After 12 minutes, add the garlic and toss around. Bake another 12 minutes. Take the parsnips and garlic with any oil left over on the tray and put them in a blender or food processor. Add a few tablespoons of milk and butter to the blender and pulse until your desired consistency. Taste for salt and pepper, add more if needed. I served garnished with green onion and the onion with the slightly sweet flavor was very good. Next time I will add more green onion. This is a great low carb side and substitute for potatoes. This amount made 3 good size side portions. Enjoy!

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

