Roasted Broccoli & Cheddar Soup

Standard

This recipe for Roasted Broccoli & Cheddar Soup hits the spot on a cold day! Although I don’t know the exact carb count, I am considering this to be “lower carb”. By roasting the broccoli and infusing the flavor of bacon throughout the soup it adds tons of flavor without adding too many carbs. I would say this recipe rivals Panera’s Broccoli Cheddar Soup. Their 13 oz portion has 23 grams of carbs, I would like to say this recipe would be less than that for the same portion, but I didn’t calculate all the totals so if you are really strict on your carbs you might want to take that into consideration and make substitutes where necessary. Here’s the recipe……

What you need;

  • 4 slices of bacon
  • 1 cup of diced yellow onion
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 large head of broccoli
  • 1 tbls olive oil
  • 32 oz chicken broth
  • 3 oz of Velveeta cheese, diced into cubes
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • Salt & Pepper

How to make;

Preheat your oven to 400. Wash and dry the head of broccoli. Remove the florets and toss them with the olive oil and salt and pepper. Lay the broccoli out on a sheet pan and bake for 20-25 minutes until lightly browned and soft. While the broccoli is cooking start the bacon in the soup pot you are planning to use. Once the bacon in crisp remove it from the pan and drain off all but about a tablespoon of the bacon grease. Saute the diced onion and garlic in the bacon grease until translucent. Add in the chicken broth and milk, bring to a simmer. Stir in the Velveeta cheese until melted. Stir in the shredded cheddar cheese until melted. If you like your soup chunky then put the broccoli right into the soup pot when it comes out of the oven, if you like smaller pieces then dice up or pulse the broccoli in your food processor before you add it to the soup. Once everything is added, taste for salt and pepper and add as necessary. Simmer the soup for 15-20 minutes and serve warm. I topped mine with the crispy bacon and more cheese for dinner last night. For lunch today I used french fried onions. I must say the soup is even better the second day! I hope you enjoy!

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

