Garlic Cheddar Mashed Cauliflower

Standard

I urge you to try these mock mashed potatoes…..cauliflower is a great substitute for potatoes in a low carb diet. This recipe is super simple, 5 major ingredients and minimal time or effort is needed. I think you will be pleasantly surprised, and my low carb followers, I’m sure will be adding this to their recipe repertoire! This dish looks, smells and tastes like potatoes but without all the carbs! I dare you to serve this to someone and see if they can tell that it isn’t potatoes!

image

 

Garlic Cheddar Mashed Cauliflower

What you need;

1 medium head of cauliflower, cut into florets

1/4 cup of milk or chicken stock

1/2 stick butter

1/2 tsp minced garlic

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Season to your liking with salt & pepper. I used 1 tsp salt & 1/2 tsp black pepper

How to make;

Boil a pot of water big enough to hold the cauliflower florets. Add about a tsp of salt to the boiling water and add the cauliflower florets. Boil for 5-6 minutes or until tender when pierced with a fork. Drain well and add to a food processor or blender. If you don’t have either, a potato masher will do, but you will have a chunkier consistency. I gave my food processor a few pulses to start pureeing the cauliflower. Then I added the milk, butter, garlic, cheese, salt & pepper. I gave it a few more pulses until everything was combined and it was the consistency I desired. Serve warm with extra cheese on top. Bacon pieces, chives, sour cream, gravy or any other potato toppings would be delicious too.

* If you are wanting plain mashed cauliflower, then omit the garlic and cheese only*

ENJOY!

 

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

