Soft & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Standard

Everyone loves chocolate chip cookies, right? I don’t know anyone who doesn’t….they are my husband’s favorite cookie and after trying many recipes, this is the one that has his stamp of approval. I’ve been baking these for years and after my most recent batch, I realized that I haven’t shared my recipe here. The recipe is super easy, I use my mixer so prep is a breeze and they are pretty fool proof, and even taste ok burned…..yes I have burned more than one batch in my day. These cookies are super soft because of my secret ingredient, they are slightly chewy which is a must for chocolate chip cookies and they are loaded with chocolate chips, also a must because they are chocolate chip cookies after all! Without further adieu, here’s the recipe……
image

Soft & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

What you need;
2 1/4 C flour
3/4 C light brown sugar, packed
1/4 C white sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 package chocolate chips (12 oz)
1 pkg (3.4oz) instant french vanilla pudding (secret ingredient)

How to make;
Preheat oven to 375. Combine flour and baking soda together in a bowl and set aside. In a large bowl for mixing or in your stand mixer bowl, cream together the butter and 2 types of sugar. Add the vanilla pudding, mix until incorporated. Add the eggs, vanilla extract and salt. Mix until the consistency is smooth. Slowly add the flour until completely incorporated. Turn the mixer off and fold in a whole bag of chocolate chips (leave about 1/4 cup to the side for adding later to the baked cookies *see trick below*). Let the dough chill for about 20 minutes in the fridge. I use the chill time to clean up my kitchen, preheat the oven and grease my baking sheets.

Once the dough has slightly chilled, take about golf ball sized scoops and place equal distance apart on the baking sheets. Bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 10 minutes. Cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

Here’s a little trick if you want your cookies to look extra special. Right when they come out of the oven, I push a few extra chocolate chips into the top of each cookie. The heat from the cookie will slightly melt the chips (you can pop back in the oven for a minute or two). This is what you use the 1/4 cup of chocolate chips you have set aside for. The picture below shows what the cookies will look like without the added chocolate chips at the end (left) and what they look like if you add a few chocolate chips to the top at the very end (right). Either way they will taste delicious!
image

This batch will make about 36 cookies

*Tips*
If you forget to add salt to your dough, after the cookies come out of the oven, lightly sprinkle them with sea salt and shake off the excess before storing.
If you use salted butter, don’t add additional salt.
Try chocolate pudding mix for chocolate chocolate chip cookies.
Add 1/2 to 1 cup of chopped nuts for additional flavor.

Enjoy!!

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

4 responses »

  1. Your cookie recipe is VERY similar to mine, except, instead of the vanilla pudding, I use cornstach and egg yolks. Mine come out looking almost identical to yours. I haven’t made your standard-issue chocolate chip cookie in over two years; once you find the perfect CCC recipe, you never go back, huh? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

