Take Out Remake – One Pan Sweet & Sour Chicken

Standard

Here’s another Chinese “Take Out Remake”. You might remember my last remake post, General Tso’s Chicken (https://simple2something.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/take-out-remake-general-tsos-chicken/). That is my husband’s favorite Chinese take out dish, and this one is mine. Usually Sweet & Sour Chicken is battered and fried, but I’ve taken a healthier spin on the dish and made it super simple by making everything in one pan. Easy, delicious and less dishes to clean! Yay!

PicsArt_1408119489717

One Pan Sweet & Sour Chicken

What you need;

  • One green pepper, sliced into thin strips
  • One small yellow onion, sliced into thin strips
  • One pound of chicken breast, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • One can of pineapple chunks, drained with juice saved
  • 1/2 C good quality ketchup
  • 1/4 C white vinegar
  • 1/4 C white sugar
  • 1/2 C pineapple juice saved from canned pineapple
  • 2 Tbls cornstarch
  • 2 Tsp cooking oil
  • Salt & Pepper

How to make;

Sauté green pepper and onion strips in about 1 tsp of oil over medium heat until soft. Remove the pepper and onion and set aside. Add another tsp of oil to the pan and add the cubed chicken pieces. Season with salt & pepper and sauté until lightly golden brown. While the chicken is cooking, dissolve the cornstarch in the pineapple juice and add the sugar, vinegar and ketchup. Whisk until mixed well. Once the chicken is almost cooked through, return the peppers and onion to the pan and stir in the ketchup mixture. Reduce the heat to medium-low and stir until the juice starts to turn into a sauce. Simmer for about 10 minutes until chicken is fully cooked and sauce has thickened.

Serve over rice or as my husband likes it, just by itself. Accompany with traditional Chinese sides like crab rangoon or egg rolls or to keep it light and healthy serve with a green salad.

Enjoy!

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

