Tomato Cage Christmas Topiary Trees

Standard

I just have to share this idea with you! It’s too good not to! I originally saw these tomato cage trees on Pinterest and since I had all the materials, I knew I was going to try making them. I wasn’t quite sure how they would turn out so I didn’t take enough pictures for a tutorial with pictures, but I will give you a great link to a tutorial in case you want to try making them yourself. Topiary trees at the store can be pricey! I love the look but not the cost. I had tomato cages left from my garden and I love repurposing items so I knew this was a project for me. You just need a few basic items……

What you need;
Tomato cages
Strands of garland
Ribbon, lights, bows, decorations of your choice
Duct tape

How to make them;
I wanted to put my trees in flower pots to give them more height, but they will stand alone if you leave the largest ring in tact. Decide if you want them to stand alone or go into a flower pot. If they are going in a flower pot then remove the largest ring from the tomato cage and that is now the bottom of your tree. Stake the bottom into your flower pot and secure on the inside of the flower pot with duct tape. If they aren’t going in a flower pot then start here. Next, duct tape the top of the tree together to form one point (this is formerly the bottom of the tomato cage when used in a garden). Start wrapping the cage from top to bottom with garland. I used a mix of wired garland and soft pre-lit garland (not sure of it’s technical name but there’s no wire running through it). I used one strand of each. Once the tree is starting to take form and completely wrapped in garland, wrap it in lights and adjust any bare spots. Next decorate the tree how you wish. I used a big poinsetta flower on top of each tree and I wrapped each tree in a wide ribbon and used a different ribbon to cascade down the tree. Duct tape any loose ribbon or secure anything that could blow away. Lastly I added a few shiny ornaments and voila here’s my FREE Tomato Cage Christmas Topiary Tree!

image

Here’s a look at both of them next to my front door. Simple, yet elegant and my favorite part, FREE!!!!

image

Here’s another blog with a great tutorial with step by step pictures.
http://www.twotwentyone.net/2014/11/tiered-tomato-cage-christmas-trees/

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a Reply

