My 50 Favorite Uses For Coconut Oil

Standard

Have you tried Coconut Oil? I discovered it while I was pregnant with my daughter and slowly starting incorporating it into our lifestyle. I started cooking with it first, then I used it to treat diaper rash and as a moisturizer for dry winter skin. Then I found myself thinking about coconut oil when I had a burn and then again when I was scratching my mosquito bites until they bled. Coconut Oil helped soothe both of those irritations. I started researching my new found obsession and this is what I found…..Coconut Oil is antibacterial, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, antiviral, and antimicrobial. It’s a natural treatment for many ailments and has many common household uses. I prefer an organic, unrefined type of Coconut Oil. This is the least processed oil and contains the most natural nutrients. Coconut Oil is rather inexpensive and I keep a jar in my pantry and in my medicine cabinet. I’ve compiled a list of my 50 favorite uses for Coconut Oil. Many of these I have tried myself, but if I haven’t tried them myself, I included them because they amazed me. I’m adding Coconut Oil to my arsenal of favorite natural products, right next to my Organic ACV and Organic Honey. I love inexpensive, natural remedies that have multiple uses. If you haven’t already, check out my Apple Cider Vinegar and Honey posts. It’s pretty amazing what these natural products can do for you!

coconuts-Coconut-oil-on-spoon

  1. For cooking it’s a great oil with a high smoke point
  2. Great for baking as a replacement for vegetable oil
  3. Taken supplementally for daily energy
  4. As a coffee creamer when emulsified into coffee
  5. On the skin as a basic moisturizer naturally with SPF 4
  6. As a natural treatment for diaper rash
  7. To prevent stretch marks during pregnancy
  8. To get rid of cradle cap on a baby
  9. Topically to kill yeast and relieve discomfort from yeast infections
  10. As a massage oil
  11. A tiny dab through hair will help get rid of frizz
  12. Topically, can help skin heal faster after injury or infection
  13. Directly on the perineum to help heal after birth
  14. As a natural conditioner. Rub into dry hair, put a shower cap on and leave for several hours
  15. On feet to fight athlete’s foot or fungus
  16. In place of Lanolin cream on nursing nipples to sooth irritation
  17. With apple cider vinegar as a natural treatment for lice that actually works
  18. Rub coconut oil on the inside of your nose to help alleviate allergy symptoms
  19. Taken orally to help relieve allergy symptoms
  20. There is some evidence that coconut oil may kill intestinal parasites or yeast
  21. Can help improve insulin levels
  22. Oil pulling with coconut oil helps improve gum health and remove toxins from your body
  23. Can help improve cholesterol ratios
  24. Blend a tablespoon into hot tea to help speed recovery from cold or flu
  25. Can help reduce appearance of varicose veins
  26. As a naturally antibacterial skin cream
  27. As a natural shave cream
  28. When used consistently on skin it can help get rid of cellulite
  29. To season cast iron skillets
  30. It’s anti-inflammatory properties can help lessen arthritis
  31. Can reduce the itch of mosquito bites
  32. Can be rubbed into scalp daily to treat dandruff
  33. To help speed ear infection healing
  34. Can be used to speed healing of fungal infections when taken internally and used externally
  35. A natural decongestant
  36. To help sooth the itch of chicken pox or poison ivy
  37. A tablespoon taken before each meal can help improve digestion, and prevent constipation
  38. Can be taken in warm ginger tea to sooth heartburn or nausea
  39. Can be used internally and externally to speed recovery from UTIs
  40. When taken regularly, it can help fight candida
  41. Can relieve the pain of hemorrhoids when used topically
  42. On cuticles to help nails grow
  43. Appetite suppressant
  44. Treats cold sores
  45. Treats pink eye
  46. Relieves sunburn pain
  47. Treats hives
  48. Shoe polish
  49. Natural lubricant
  50. Aids in vitamin and nutrient absorption

What do you use Coconut Oil for? Do you have a natural product that you swear by? I’d love to know about it, share it with me here!

 

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

Leave a comment