Zucchini Mock Apple Pie

Standard

You will not believe how much this tastes, smells and looks like apple pie! I’m always looking for ways to use my zucchini and I was given this idea by a very dear lady to me (thanks Susan). I looked online for recipes, but in the end I decided to use my apple pie recipe and replace the apples with zucchini. Without further adieu…..here’s the recipe!

What you need;
1 large zucchini (6-7 cups peeled & sliced like apple slices)
1/2 c sugar, plus 1/2 tbls for crust topping
1/2 c brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
3 tbls flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbls melted butter
2 pie crust

How to make;
Peel & slice your zucchini into slices that resemble apple slices. I used my apple slicer, it removes most of the seeds, I still had to do a little seed removal. You don’t want any seeds. I had between 6-7 cups, a little low or a little high is fine. Microwave the zucchini slices for 2-3 minutes, until just soft. You do not want them fully cooked or starting to release liquid. Set the zucchini aside and mix the sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, cream of tartar, flour and salt together. Toss zucchini in the sugar mixture until coated. Pour into the bottom pie crust and spread evenly. Top with second crust and make slits or attempt a lattice crust. My lattice crust isn’t perfect, but for my first try it was easier than I thought. Baste the melted butter over the top crust and sprinkle with about 1/2 tbls of sugar. Bake at 425 for 20 min, reduce heat to 350 and bake an additonal 30 minutes. Check the crust a few times, if its browning too fast, cover with foil and continue baking. Let the pie cool at least 30 min before slicing, let the filling thicken.

image

Then enjoy with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream and no one will ever know it’s zucchini and not apples! Zucchini is much lower in calories than apples, not to mention its high in vitamin C and antioxidants. It’s also a good source of potassium and vitamin A. ENJOY!!!

image

About simple2something

I decided to start a blog because I am a natural “sharer”. I love to share ideas, recipes, thoughts and opinions with everyone I know. I am a working mother with two busy toddlers. I enjoy finding ways to save money and be thrifty. I’m a coupon clipper, sale shopper and DIY enthusiast. I love to cook, decorate, craft and try new things. I'm a Pinterest addict! I love to make homemade gifts and I make and sell Infinity Scarves in my Etsy Store. I recently started a new business, I partnered with two world renowned Doctor's to help people achieve the best skin of their life. I’m just a regular gal who enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling, cooking, decorating, crafting, helping people and trying new things. I hope you enjoy my blog and maybe pick up a few tips or learn something new. You never know when “simple” can turn into “something”.

One response »

  1. I forgot to add the brown sugar! I think it actually contributed to a genuine Apple pie taste!! I also sprinkled a tad of pumpkin pie spice . The pie was DELICIOUS! Thanks for a great recipe!

    Like

Leave a comment